Home Page Buddy Holly - Now! This is an unofficial site
Undated 1980s 1990s 2000s 2010s 2020s Tributes DVDs

the singles +

the singles +

Disc 1

1 Blue Days, Black Nights    
2 Love Me    
3 You Are My One Desire    
4 Modern Don Juan    
5 That'll Be the Day    
6 I'm Lookin' for Someone to Love    
7 Words of Love    
8 Mailman, Bring Me No More Blues    
9 Peggy Sue    
10 Everyday    
11 Oh, Boy!    
12 Not Fade Away    
13 Maybe Baby    
14 Tell Me How    
15 Listen to Me    
16 Rave On    
17 Take Your Time    
18 Think It Over    
19 Fool's Paradise    
20 Ting-A-Ling    
21 Girl on My Mind    
22 Early in the Morning    
23 Now We're One    


1 It's So Easy    
2 Lonesome Tears    
3 Heartbeat    
4 Well ... All Right    
5 It Doesn't Matter Anymore    
6 Raining in My Heart    
7 Midnight Shift    
8 Peggy Sue Got Married    
9 Crying, Waiting, Hoping    
10 True Love Ways    
11 Learning the Game    
12 What to Do    
13 (You're So Square) Baby I Don't Care    
14 Valley of Tears    
15 Reminiscing    
16 Bo Diddley    
17 Brown Eyed Handsome Man    
18 Wishing    
19 Rock Around With Ollie Vee    
20 I'm Gonna Love You Too    
21 You've Got Love    
22 Love's Made a Fool of You    

The set includes a 16 page booklet, with a potted biog by Skip Voogd, and full track listing (title, time, composer credits, recording date, single release date with reference number).

In many cases, there's a picture of the original record picture sleeve. Finally, a table indicates highest chart postions achieved in Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, UK, USA, France and Sweden.

My (Netherlands) copy includes a detailed list of single releases from 1958-1969 - I don't think they've done a US or UK version - so the listings are based on Netherlands release dates.

One weakness is that the notes do not make it clear if these versions are 'as released' or are later overdubs or 'processed for stereo' versions. MCA (part of Vivendi Universal) do persist in treating their catalog as the 'only' catalog - typical of a big corporation!

I think it's not a bad collection, but like all MCA licenced releases, it has no surprises. If you can get a good price for these 45 tracks, it's probably worth adding it to your collection. If you live it the Netherlands ... Buy it now!


Released January, 2002

Number of Discs: 2
BR Music: BS 8126-2

ahcode: 45-BLYMTI

Released in 2001 in the Netherlands, this compilation is now 'officially' available in both the US and the UK - US buyers would do well to consider ordering from the UK - even after extra postage, the saving may be significant.

Updated: 19 July 2020   copyright matters   
Undated 1980s 1990s 2000s 2010s 2020s Tributes DVDs Privacy The Picks sitemap